Who am I? 🕵️

Romy the Dachshund!
Beach life was not for her

Firstly, thanks for looking at my personal website. It's my warm and comfy Warm your hands by the fireplace.

My name is Adam - I live in the northeast of London with my partner and little pup.

I wasn't always technically oriented; I originally studied English Literature at undergraduate level, with lofty aspirations of becoming the poet laureate. I soon discovered that you had to do quite a lot of reading of dry Jacobean texts so that idea died a death, and I transfigured into techie Adam.

Aside from being a dog dad, I love music (some of my favourite artists are Tame Impala and Maribou State), beer, reading and maybe sometimes some exercise to counteract the amount of Deliveroos I order.

Technical interests

I have a particular interest in building out amazing developer tooling, as I think all too often developer ease of use and experience falls by the wayside. I think Datadog is a great example of a complex product executed with this ethos in mind.

I have worked across a lot of programming languages in my career.

My workstation
My workspace.. 2020 Coronavirus edition ™️

My perfect web stack nowdays would probably be something along the lines of:

  • TypeScript
  • Next.js
  • Apollo (with all queries SSR-ed)
  • Node.js custom server (w/ TypeScript)
  • React + Hooks + Context API
  • Styled Components
  • Cypress
  • Jest

So why are you here?

You may be a recruiter, you may just be an inquisitive internet traveller, who knows?

If you are looking to hire, I am always on the lookout for a role where I can have a great impact and influence the technical direction of the org, in both frontend and backend architecture. The key things I look for are a friendly culture, a group of passionate individuals who want to move fast and create something magical, and of course I still need to eat and also feed my little pup, so a salary.